Pet Sympathy Card

Sorry I haven’t posted in so long! I have developed a new passion . . . jewelry-making! I have always loved to make my own jewelry but I was drawn more to making cards. And I still love to make my own cards but I have started an Etsy shop to sell my jewelry. I hope you’ll visit sometime: http://www.TouchedByGod.etsy.com.

My daughter’s boyfriend has a cat named Beast. She was named after the cat from the movie “Hocus Pocus!” (Okay . . . I know the cat was a boy in the movie but our Beast is a girl.) Anyway . . . our Beast died just a little over a week ago. It was a sad day for the Poole Family!

Rewind a couple of years . . . just before Emma, my daughter, left for her freshman year at college, our 11 year old Beagle died of cancer. We lost a family member that day! We have lost pets before that we have grieved but this dog was a member of our family and we were in pain. We still miss her but one thing that helped was the sympathy card(s) that we received. So we decided to send our friends a card. And here is a picture of it:

Cats Leave Paw Prints on Your Heart Pet Sympathy Card

Cats Leave Paw Prints on Your Heart Pet Sympathy Card CloseupI love these colors. I picked out the teal blue to compliment the patterned paper with the solid paper and the ribbon. This is one of my favorite colors (for now anyway, lol!) We wanted to keep the inside sentiment simple and definitely “not cheesy, mom!”

Cats Leave Paw Prints on Your Heart Pet Sympathy Card Inside Sentiment

Very simple and straight to the point! Believe it or not . . . one of the hardest parts of designing a card for me is picking out the font for the sentiment! I have 1000’s of fonts on my computer. Maybe that’s why it runs so slow!

I also like to put a little something on the back of the card. I always put a Bible verse that is applicable to the situation or for cards that don’t necessarily have a scripture, I put John 3:16. I also change up the little icon next to the verse depending on the season. Here is a snap shot of the back of this card:

Handmade Greeting Card Back View Touched By God Cards

Supplies:

  • 5″ x 7″ Card Base and Envelope
  • Teal Solid Paper
  • “I Love My Cat” Patterned Paper
  • American Crafts Ribbon
  • Kraft Textured Solid Paper
  • White Cardstock with Printed Sentiment from Silhouette
  • Spellbinders Nestablilities

I hope you like my card! Thanks for visiting my blog!

 

Mwah!

Lori

Leave a Reply

