So Many Candles . . .

So Many Candles, so little Cake!

So Many Candles,
so little Cake!

Actually, so many Christmas cards . . . Now don’t get me wrong, I love to make Christmas cards. But by the time December 25 rolls around, I am ready to move on to something else . . . ANYTHING else! However, I decided to not push on to Valentine’s Day, not immediately anyway. Although, it was hard to resist those gorgeous shades of pink and red associated with that romantic day. And all those cute and punny sayings! I love making ruler slides that say “You Rule” and pencil slides that say “Be Mine.” Just like Christmas, there are so many great papercrafts to be created for that special someone (or someone-s)!

With all that in mind, I decided to make a left-turn and make a Birthday Card! I saw a similar card to this one on Pinterest. In fact, it is so similar, it’s almost identical, lol! It was designed by Georgeann Manning who designs for Stampin’ Up™. Her blog entry for this card can be found at this address.  Now I am always looking for new cute sayings for my cards and I really like this one. But what really caught my eye was that gorgeous turquoise-y color of the card base. I am not ashamed to admit that I “inspire” myself with cards designed by other artists. Rarely though do I make a card that looks identical to the one that jolted my brain cells. I like to mix it up and make each design “my own.” However, I loved so many things about this card that I did not want to change one little thing. It’s gorgeous just the way it is. Hats off to you, Georgeann!

Even though they look very much alike, I am sure we used different supplies and different printing/cutting methods to achieve our looks.

Materials:

  • Swiss Dot Turquoise Blue Cardstock
  • White Cardstock
  • Ecru Cardstock
  • Blue Adhesive Gems by K&Company
  • Adhesive, Pop-Up Dots, black pen

Instructions:

  • Make card base from Swiss Dot Cardstock, 10″ x 7″.
  • Score center of card. I used my Martha Stewart™ Box/Envelope Score Board. Fold card to 5″ x 7″ with fold at the top.
  • Cut white cardstock using Cricut™ Elegant Edges cartridge into rectangle with scalloped edges, 5″ x 6″.
  • Cut ecru cardstock using paper trimmer, 5″ x 5-1/4″.
  • Score ecru rectangle with vertical lines. Again, I used my Martha Stewart™ Score board.
  • Cut white cardstock using Cricut™ Elegant Edges cartridge into Artisan Frame. I cut this to fit the front of the card, approximately 4-5/8″ wide x 4-3/4″ tall.
  • Draw black dashes on artisan frame.
  • Assemble card by layering pieces as shown, using pop-up dots to raise the artisan frame for dimension.
  • I printed the saying on the frame using Print Master™ software. Use your choice of software or a stamp to add your saying.
  • Cut out birthday cake with candles. I used an image from the Sihouette™ On-line Store and cut it on my Silhouette™ SD.
  • Attach cake to card and add adhesive gems.
  • Finish inside of card as desired.

Again, hats off to Georgeann. I love this card and I will be making many more of them in different colors. This is a great Birthday Card for friends and family alike!

IMG_7808


Thanks for visiting,

Lori

Leave a Reply

